Indian Political System


  • Political system is a sub-system of the social  system and is often described as the legitimate order.
  • The political system fall into three broad categories: the liberal democratic system, the totalitarian system, autocratic system.
  • India has adopted liberal democratic system infused with the liberal principles of justice, equality and fraternity. Indian political system is democratic which means the people above the age 18 they are eligible to elect and select the government .they have right to vote without discrimination of caste, color, gender, education etc.
  • Structure of Indian government consists of mainly three sections legislature, executive and judiciary.
  • The legislature section consists of president and the parliament .responsibility to make laws to seek accountability from executive.
  • The parliament of India is the supreme legislative body of the republic of India. central government consists of two houses upper house and lower house it is nothing but Rajya Sabha(council of states) and Lok Sabha (house of the people). Lok Sabha member s are directly elected by the people as member of parliament(MP).both houses runs under president .any kind of bill can be passed to president after having sessions among the  Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha .once president approves the bill it becomes law all over the country.
  • Executive is responsible to implement the laws made by the legislature. Executive consists of president, vice president, prime minister, cabinet ministers, public servants(IAS, IPS, IFS, etc. )
  • Judiciary section is nothing but the supreme court. Supreme court responsible to resolve conflicts between executive and legislature, other public related conflicts.
  • There are three types of elections Lok Sabha elections, Rajya Sabha elections, state assembly elections. Lok Sabha elections are every 5 years once with545 seats. In Rajya Sabha members elected indirectly by MLAs which consists of 250 seats. state assembly elections are done once every 5 years in this head of the state (chief minister ) elected.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.